Skip to content

Why the scientific community cannot leave women and girls behind

Abo-Hamed is the founder and CEO of H2GO Power, a company that provides safe methods of hydrogen production and storage to generate power on the move. She won Best Energy Startup award in the world at the 2016 HT Summit. “The opportunities that I was presented with as a researcher made me feel that I  can do more if I transferred my research into technology solutions that solve pressing demands for energy in underprivileged societies.”

Her comments were supported by Jordan-based One Young World Ambassador Ayah Alfawaris, who said there was “a clear gap between education and work” in her country. “I can confidently say that education is a priority for almost every family in Jordan and students get fair opportunities regardless of their gender. But sadly, very few of the women who graduate from science fields end up working.”

Continue reading the full article.

