Skip to content

2019 Dr. Shirley Hansen CWEEL Leader Award

The Association of Energy Engineers (AEE) and the Council of Women in Energy and Environmental Leadership (CWEEL) is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2019 Dr. Shirley Hansen CWEEL Leader Award is Davetta Thacher, for her outstanding contributions to CWEEL and the energy community.

Pictured left to right: Nandini Mouli, Scholarship & Awards Committee Chair; Davetta Thacher, Award Recipient; and Laurie Wiegand-Jackson, CWEEL Co-Chair

Davetta Thacher
Senior Project Manager NYSERDA’s On-site Power Team

As senior project manager of NYSERDA’s on-site power team, she has helped develop, design, and manage a wide variety of energy-related initiatives, including the Combined Heat and Power (CHP) Program, which provided technical and financial support for the installation of CHP systems.  Prior to joining NYSERDA, Davetta held various engineering positions within the R&D and manufacturing divisions at General Electric, Teradyne and United Technologies.  She has also been an educator, working as an Assistant Professor of Business Administration at Eastern Connecticut State University and a Connecticut-certified high school math teacher. Davetta holds BS and MS degrees in Mechanical Engineering and an MBA, all from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.  She has served as a Board Member of the AEE NY Chapter since the Fall of 2015 and as Secretary since January 2018.